Skip to main content
Top of the Page

Neurosurgical Society of Australasia

About Us

The Neurosurgical Society of Australasia (NSA) is a professional not for profit organisation. The NSA was registered under the Corporations Act 2001 in March 2014 as a company limited by guarantee. The Act is administered by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. Every public company must have documented rules. The rules for the Neurosurgical Society of Australasia are outlined in the Constitution.

Membership to the NSA is voluntary and currently includes approximately 95% of neurosurgeons in Australia and New Zealand. The high membership level reflects the commitment of neurosurgeons to the advancement, maintenance of standards and the delivery of the highest standard of neurosurgical care. Membership confers no rights of privileges for admission to practice as a neurosurgeon.


The objects of the NSA are the study and advancement of the art and science of neurosurgery and research into the cause, prevention and cure of disease in human beings in the field of neurosurgery.



The Neurosurgical Society of Australasia (NSA) was formed in Melbourne on 19 April, 1940, initially as the Society of Australasian Neurological Surgeons. The eight founding members of the NSA were:

A E Coates
H C Trumble
F P Morgan
R A Money
G Phillips
I D Miller
L C E Lindon
D McKenzie

The Emblem

The Neurosurgical Society of Australasia emblem displays two lizards; the Australian stumpy-tailed (Trachysaurus rugosus) and the New Zealand tuatara (Sphenodon punctatus). These lizards both have well developed third eyes in the median parietal region. These animals were chosen for our emblem following a witty after-dinner speech by Kenneth Jamieson in which he emphasised the value of the third eye in neurosurgical hindsight. The emblem symbolises the partnership of Australia and New Zealand in the work of the Neurosurgical Society of Australasia.

Back to Top